#### BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

ADVOCAP
"Helping People Help Themselves"

June 26, 2014 Reference Agenda Item #4

# BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING 7:00 P.M.– Thursday, May 15, 2014 LaSure's Hall 3125 S. Washburn Street Oshkosh, WI

#### **MEETING MINUTES**

**PRESENT:** Will Albrecht, Connie Anderson, Darlene Bilstad, Donna Blend, Tom Dornbrook,

Ted Eischeid, Robert Giese, Sister Caryl Hartjes, Chris Kniep, June Kriegel,

Natalie Lambert, Larry Lautenschlager, Paul Levandowski, Susan Locke, Ann Marshall, Carol Miller, Mike Norton, Ann Paradies, Joe Preisler, John Schneider, Don Skog,

Tom Widener, Gary Will

ABSENT/

**EXCUSED:** Jim Chatterton, Joe Gonyo, Norman Leatherwood, Mark Mayer, Whittney Pultz,

Latrayvia Spivery, Chuck Tews, William Wuske

**STAFF:** Tony Beregszazi, Michael Bonertz, Kathy Doyle, Brian Jacobson, Hillary Gunther,

Tanya Marcoe, Lu Scheer, Jason Vander Velden, Linda Wheeler

**WELCOME:** 

Mike Bonertz welcomed those attending the 2014 Annual Meeting and recognized special guests. Mike also acknowledged new board members, Christian Harpt, Joe Prisler, Koby Schellenger. Winnebago County Board Supervisor Mark Harris, greeted

those in attendance and gave opening remarks.

**CALL TO** 

**ORDER:** The meeting was officially called to order at 7:05 pm by President Connie Anderson.

**ROLL** 

**CALL:** Roll call indicated a quorum was present. The Mission statement was read.

**AGENDA:** Motion made to approve agenda by with a second by

### MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

#### PRESENTATION OF 2013 ANNUAL REPORT:

Mike Bonertz gave a presentation of the 2013 Annual Report. This report highlighted ADVOCAP's program activities, statics and achievements during 2013 that were made possible through the efforts of ADVOCAP's Board, Program Directors and staff.

#### BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

June 26, 2014 Page 2

#### **ANNOUNCEMENTS OF ELECTION RESULTS:**

Connie Anderson announced the results of the election of ADVOCAP Board Officers and the Executive Committee. The ballots were collected at registration and counted by Deputy Director Tony Beregszazi.

#### **Officers:**

President - Connie Anderson

Vice President – Tom Dornbrook

Secretary – Ann Marshall

Treasurer – William Wuske

#### **Balance of the Executive Committee:**

Darlene Bilstad, Donna Blend, Joe Gonyo, Chris Kniep, Natalie Lambert, Larry Lautenschlager, John Schneider, Tom Widener

#### **COMMUNITY SERVICE AWARDS**

Mike Bonertz related that over ADVOCAP's history, special recognition has been given to organizations who have demonstrated service to ADVOCAP's mission in the community and volunteers who have given service to ADVOCAP's constituents. As a token of ADVOCAP's appreciation this year, each recipient received a print of a piece of art work entitled "Journey to Self-Sufficiency. Executive Director Mike Bonertz and the Program Directors and Department Staff presented the Community Service Awards to two groups whose collaborative efforts helped further ADVOCAP's mission of creating opportunities to reduce poverty. This is also the second yeear the Self-Sufficiency Award was presented. This award recognized an individuals accomplishments in achieving self-sufficiency. This years award winners were as follows:

#### **Community Award Winners:**

\*Fond du Lac County: First Presbyterian Church

\*Green Lake County: Consumer Credit Counseling Service

\*Winnebago County: Day by Day Warming Shelter

#### Volunteer Award Winners:

\*Fond du Lac County: Barb Reichartz
\*Green Lake County: Bob Hawse
\*Winnebago County: Don Wolter

**Self-Sufficency Award Winner:** Nicole Tynan

#### **RECOGNITION OF STAFF SERVICES:**

Executive Director Mike Bonertz and Deputy Director Tony Beregszazi recognized ADVOCAP staff members who had given five or more consecutive years for their years of dedicated service. Those who have been with the agency for five consecutive year increments were recognized with a Service Award Pin.

## **RECOGNITION OF RETIRING BOARD MEMBERS:**

Mike Bonertz acknowledged the following retiring board members: Mary Bingen, Nomran Leatherwood, Alejandra Lopez, Doug Pearson, Marissa Reynolds, Latrayvia Spivey and Chuck Tews. Doug Pearson was present and received a special paper weight thanking him for his service to ADVOCAP.

# **ADJOURNMENT:**

On a motion by Mike Norton with a second by Donna Blend the meeting was adjourned at 8:15 pm

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

MINUTES BY: Linda Wheeler, Executive Administrative Assistant