Ad Hoc Structure Review Task Force Recommendation to the Judiciary and Public Safety Committee

The Ad Hoc Structure Review Task Force, since its establishment in March, has endeavored to do the research and input necessary to propose a right-sized suite of solutions for structure of the Winnebago County Board. We spoke with other counties, asked for feedback from supervisors and departmental stakeholders in the form of questionnaires, and digested this information thoughtfully. As per our charter, we are recommending to you, the Judiciary and Public Safety Committee, a solution that flows logically. They are laid out below. Just a reminder, we currently have twelve standing committees and three boards of major departments. These fifteen bodies are the only ones that have been considered in our rightsizing efforts.

Eight Standing Committees

This is a solution that is unique for Winnebago County. The new standing committees are laid out below with the proposed member makeup and with what other bodies may be consolidated.

I.) Public Works

a.) Highway

b.) Facilities/Property Management

c.) Solid Waste Board* (may need to be removed from this consolidation)

Membership: This committee will consist of nine members eight of which will be supervisors and one citizen member.

II.) Judiciary and Public Safety

Membership: This committee's makeup and jurisdiction will remain unchanged.

III.) Personnel and Finance

a.) Information Technology*

Membership: This committee's makeup will remain unchanged.

*The task force recommends that the citizen member spot on Information Technology not be carried over. The duties of Information Technology would be simply transferred to Personnel and Finance. IV.) Natural Resources

- a.) UW Education/Extension/Agriculture
- b.) Parks/Recreation
- c.) Land Conservation*

Membership: This committee will consist of seven members five of which will be supervisors, one USDA Farm Service Agency representative (as per statute), and one citizen member.

V.) Health and Human Services

- a.) Human Services Board
- b.) Board of Health
- c.) Parkview Health Center

Membership: This committee will consist of nine members six of which will be supervisors and three citizen members.

VI.) Planning and Zoning

Membership: This committee's makeup and jurisdiction will remain unchanged.

VII.) Aviation

Membership: This committee's makeup and jurisdiction will remain unchanged.

VIII.) Legislative

Membership: This committee's jurisdiction will remain unchanged, but will be reduced to the new committee chairs (8x) plus the Winnebago County Board Chairman.

Citizen Participation and Service/Statute Considerations

You will note that this solution still provides for citizen input and expertise that is both mandated by state statute and is ideal for continuity of said citizen service. We reviewed the statutes and made our recommendations based on what they require. We asked Corporation Counsel and Legislative Counsel in Madison to review and confirm what may or may not need to be maintained in terms of citizen members in such a consolidation. For example, Wisconsin Statute outlines that a member of the USDA's Farm Service Agency must be a member on a Land Conservation Committee. The Task Force is under the impression that this would have to be maintained in any consolidation involving Land Conservation. However, since citizen members would now sit on ostensibly more powerful committees, the task force recommends that citizen members not be able to chair these new major standing committees.

Other Committees, Commissions, and Boards:

This does not involve the more minor commissions and boards of jurisdiction (for example the Winnefox Library System, Board of Adjustment, or ADRC). The task force's work focused on the bodies of jurisdiction over major departments.

Summary of our Research

-Summary of the surveys* Task Force input required before forwarding to JPS