1 185-062021

16

20

24

RESOLUTION: Request Sheriff to Read Declaration of Independence on Courthouse Steps on July 4, 2021

4 TO THE WINNEBAGO COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS:

5 **WHEREAS**, the Continental Congress, by a Declaration of Independence, dated July 4, 1776, declared the 6 inhabitants of New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, 7 Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia, were no longer colonial subjects to be 8 exploited arbitrarily by servants of the King and Parliament of Great Britain, but now were free citizens of their own 9 territories, and that free citizens should constitute the governments for those territories; and

WHEREAS, the Continental Congress provided that same day, by orders of their House, that their Declaration
should be proclaimed aloud and published to the free citizens of the territories represented in their Congress; and

12 **WHEREAS**, responsible citizens were notified of the Declaration by sheriffs who proclaimed it on the 13 courthouse steps, by clergymen who read it from their pulpits, and by printers who printed it in their gazettes; and

WHEREAS, the Continental Congress thus initiated a process that has created the Constitutions and state
governments of our Union including the Constitution and government of the State of Wisconsin.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Winnebago County Board of Supervisors that it hereby requests Sheriff John Matz to read the Declaration of Independence from the steps of the Winnebago County Courthouse at 8:00 a.m. on the morning of July 4, 2021, as this was the custom in the early history of our country.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED by the Winnebago County Board of Supervisors that we ask Sheriff John Matz to read the document without further comment or speech. This event is intended for those present to hear the words of the Declaration as we begin to celebrate our Day of Independence.

25	Respectfully submitted by:
26	JUDICIARY AND PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE
27	Committee Vote:
28	Vote Required for Passage: Majority of Those Present
29	
30	Approved by the Winnebago County Executive this day of, 2021.
31	
32	
33	Jonathan D. Doemel
34	Winnebago County Executive