1	166-012023
2 3	<b>RESOLUTION:</b> Dissolve the Diversity Affairs Commission in its Current Form
4 5	TO THE WINNEBAGO COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS:
6 7 8	<b>WHEREAS</b> , the Diversity Affairs Commission (DAC) was approved by the Winnebago County Board of Supervisors in December of 2020; the by-laws and strategic plan were approved in January of 2022, and complete board approval occurred in March of 2022 (With a new Board incoming in 5/2022): the strategic plans ended in
9	December of 2022; and
10	WHEREAS, the DAC was started during the pandemic, and the isolation of the pandemic, stressed our
11	interpersonal relations; and
12	WHEREAS, since the inception of the DAC obtaining and retaining members has been difficult; and
13	WHEREAS, the tasks, function, and outreach opportunities of the DAC can be handled by other entities, (i.e.
14	Winnebago Health Department, Human Services, UW Fox Cities, UW Oshkosh, UW extension, private entities, places of
15	worship); and
16	WHEREAS, the only stated goal of the DAC is to promote educational events; and
17	WHEREAS, other public organizations in Winnebago County, the Wisconsin Counties Association (WCA) and
18	other private enterprises in Winnebago County have existing programs to help support members of our community in the
19	area of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion and initiatives which provide funding of the educational outreach and are able to
20	reach so many diverse groups; and
21	WHEREAS, the DAC, since July of 2022 has had very limited support, especially from UW Extension, Education
22	and Agriculture support, which is the committee of Jurisdiction, and as there is no committed UW extension staff member
23 24	able to commit sufficient time until late spring/summer of 2023.
24 25	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Diversity Affairs Commission be dissolved, with the
26	understanding that it can be re-evaluated to better fit the needs of our community, post pandemic.
27 28	Fiscal Note: No fiscal impact other than savings in per diem payments for commission members, in an undetermined
29	amount.
30	
31	Respectfully submitted by:
32	KAY HORAN, District 5
33	JACOB FLOAM, District 16
34	NATE GUSTAFSON, District 28
35	DONALD NUSSBAUM, District 9
36	SHANAH ZASTERA, District 32
37	
38	Vote Required for Passage: Majority of Members Present
39	
40	
41	