SUPERVISED RELEASE COMMITTEE

(Formed pursuant to §980.08, Wis Stats)

Winnebago County Office of Corporation Counsel 448 Algoma Boulevard * Room 130 * Oshkosh WI 54901

Thursday, September 27, 2018 2:00 p.m.

PRESENT

Ryan Braun (WI Dept. of Corrections -- Field Supervisor Unit 410), Dean Kaderabek (Winnebago County -- GIS Analyst/Administrator), Jeffrey Mann (Winnebago County -- Assistant Corporation Counsel), Mary-Anne Mueller (Winnebago County -- Corporation Counsel), Tracy Rosenthal (Winnebago County -- Assistant Corporation Counsel), Angela Serwa (WI Dept. of Health Services – Supervised Release Specialist), Bill Topel (Winnebago County -- Human Services Administrative Services).

CALL TO ORDER

Mary-Anne Mueller called the Supervised Release Committee meeting to order at 2:05 p.m. and gave a brief summary concerning the background and statutory obligations for this committee.

IDENTIFY MEMBERSHIP

Mary-Anne Mueller identified each member as established by WI Statute §980.08 and asked for each member to designate an alternate as follows:

- Angela Serwa → Scott Timm or Michael Chase (WI-DHS)
- Ryan Braun → Michelle Timm (WI-DOC)
- Dean Kaderabek → Jerry Bougie (Winnebago County Planning & Zoning)
- Bill Topel → Renee Soroko (Winnebago County Human Services Behavioral Health)

There was no further discussion of this item.

ROLL CALL / ESTABLISH QUORUM

Mary-Anne Mueller established that a quorum was present at a properly called meeting in order to conduct business in the name of the Supervised Release Committee. It was also established that to conduct orderly meetings of this committee, the members would follow Robert's Rules of Order.

There was no further discussion of this item.

ELECTIONS

A motion was made by Jeff Mann and seconded by Bill Topel to nominate Mary-Anne Mueller for Chairperson. The motion carried unanimously.

Mary-Anne Mueller called for nominations with respect to Vice Chairperson. A motion was made by Bill Topel and seconded by Angela Serwa to nominate Jeff Mann for Vice Chairperson. The motion carried unanimously.

Mary-Anne Mueller called for nominations with respect to Secretary. A motion was made by Mary-Anne Mueller and seconded by Angela Serwa to nominate Dean Kaderabek for Secretary. The motion carried unanimously.

There was no further discussion of this item.

APPROVE / MODIFY AGENDA

Mary-Anne Mueller called for a motion to approve the agenda. A motion was made by Jeff Mann and seconded by Bill Topel to approve the agenda. The motion carried unanimously.

There was no further discussion of this item.

APPROVE / MODIFY MINUTES OF LAST MEETING

This is the first meeting of the committee and there was no previous meeting minutes to approve.

OLD BUSINESS

This is the first meeting of the committee and there was no old business to discuss.

NEW BUSINESS

Review Winnebago County Chapter 980 Map

Mary-Anne Mueller asked Dean Kaderabek to discuss this item. He presented a hard copy and interactive web mapping application that identified the areas within 1,500 feet from any school premises, child care facility, public park, place of worship, or youth centers. These maps also identified areas within 1,500 feet from any nursing homes or assisted living facilities. These were developed to support the committee's efforts to identify appropriate residential options for individuals subject to supervised release under this chapter within the county.

There was no further discussion of this item.

Convene into Closed Session

Pursuant to §19.85(1)(g), Wis Stats, the Supervised Release Committee shall convene into closed session to discuss Specific Supervised Release Cases, including discussing and applying confidential information and Statutory factors to Specific Supervised Release cases to develop potential placements for supervised release per §980.04(4)(dm), Wis Stats.

A motion was made by Mary-Anne Mueller to convene in closed session and seconded by Angela Serwa.

Roll call vote: Mann--Aye. Braun—Aye. Topel—Aye. Serwa—Aye. Kaderabek—Aye. Mueller—Aye. Closed session.

A motion was made by Mary-Anne Mueller to convene in open session and seconded by Jeff Mann.

Roll call vote: Mann--Aye. Braun—Aye. Topel—Aye. Serwa—Aye. Kaderabek—Aye. Mueller—Aye. Open session.

There was no further discussion of this item.

DISCUSSION OF ITEMS FOR NEXT AGENDA

Mary-Anne Mueller stated that she will be attending a status conference with Judge Basiliere, Circuit Court Branch I on Friday, October 19th at 8:15 a.m.

Ryan Braun stated that he would send a current address list from the Wisconsin Department of Corrections Sex Offender Registry to Dean Kaderabek.

Angela Serwa provided a vendor list the Wisconsin Department of Health Services uses to Jeff Mann.

Dean Kaderabek stated that he would check with Winnebago County Treasurer's office for foreclosures and investigate real estate and rental marketplace databases to incorporate into the interactive mapping application.

The committee decided the next meeting will be Monday, October 29th, 2018.

There was no further discussion of this item.

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Mary-Anne Mueller to adjourn and seconded by Jeff Mann. The motion carried unanimously. Meeting adjourned at 3:27 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Dean R. Kaderabek Secretary

