## Planning & Zoning Committee PLANNING MEETING

County Administration Building – 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor Conference Room July 5<sup>th</sup>, 2019 7:45 A.M.

PRESENT: Supervisors Tom Egan – Chairman, Maribeth Gabert, Robert Keller, Brian Defferding, Ben Joas. Jerry Bougie – Planning Director, Brian O'Rourke – Land Use Planner, Cary Rowe – Zoning Administrator

1. <u>Approval of minutes from June 7<sup>th</sup> (Deliberative), June 7<sup>th</sup> (Planning Meeting), June 21<sup>st</sup> (Viewing), & June 25<sup>th</sup> (Public Hearing).</u>

Motion to approve the minutes by B. Joas. Seconded by M. Gabert. Motion carried 5-0.

There was no further discussion of this item.

- 2. Committee review and action to forward Town of Clayton and Town of Utica Zoning Changes to County Board.
  - C. Rowe provided a memo recommending forwarding a Town of Clayton zoning change to County Board.

Motion to forward the Town of Clayton zoning change to County Board by B. Defferding. Seconded by B. Joas. Motion carried 5-0.

C. Rowe provided a memo recommending forwarding a Town of Clayton zoning change for Christianson to County Board.

Motion to forward the Town of Clayton zoning change for Christianson to County Board by B. Joas. Seconded by B. Defferding. Motion carried 5-0.

C. Rowe provided a memo recommending a Town of Utica zoning change for Schmick to County Board.

Motion to forward the Town of Utica zoning change for Schmick to County Board by R. Keller. Seconded by B. Joas. Motion carried 5-0.

There was no further discussion of this item.

- 3. <u>Committee review and action to forward Town of Clayton Ordinance Amendments to County Board.</u>
  - C. Rowe provided a memo recommending forwarding Town of Clayton ordinance amendments to County Board.

Motion to forward the Town of Clayton ordinance amendments to County Board by B. Joas. Seconded by B. Defferding. Motion carried 5-0.

There was no further discussion of this item.

- 4. Committee review and action to forward a Comprehensive Plan Amendment to Public Hearing.
  - B. O'Rourke provided the background for which DATCP stated that the Towns within Winnebago County could develop their own Farmland Preservation Plan Map after they refused to certify the County's map based on the methodology that was used to create it. The Committee then provided a deadline of July 1<sup>st</sup>, 2019, for any Town to submit a map to the County. The Farmland Preservation Plan would then need to be amended to include the map(s) submitted by Towns, adopted by County Board, and submitted to DATCP as a "County Plan/Map". The Town of Nepeuskun was the only Town that submitted a map. He also stated that the Committee would not be required to recommend approval of an amended Farmland Preservation Plan to County Board, as DATCP's suggestion that the Town(s) may develop their own map was not based on nor referenced in the State Statutes; the Statute clearly states that any Farmland Preservation Plan submitted to DATCP for certification must be a County Plan. Further, the statutory requirement that all Counties shall have a Board adopted plan has been met as of September, 2017.

Motion to forward Comprehensive Plan amendment to Committee public hearing by B. Joas. Seconded by B. Defferding. Motion carried 5-0.

There was no further discussion of this item.

- 5. <u>Update on staffing changes in the department</u>.
  - J. Bougie stated that an individual has been hired to fill the vacant stormwater and erosion control technician position, and will be starting July 17<sup>th</sup>.

There was no further discussion of this item.

Motion to adjourn by M. Gabert. Seconded by B. Joas. Motion carried 5-0.

Brian P. O'Rourke, AICP – Recording Secretary