Winnebago County Industrial Development Board

Minutes for Meeting of October 11, 2018

County Administration Building, Room 119, 112 Otter Ave., Oshkosh, WI

Board Members Present: Rob Keller, Joel Rasmussen, Jim Wise, Mark Harris, Elizabeth Hartman, Mary Krueger, George Dearborn, Mary Anne Mueller

Board Members Excused: Shiloh Ramos, Ken Robl, Linda Kutchenriter

Others Present: Jerry Bougie, Rob Kleman, Chuck Hertel

Meeting Called to Order at 10:00 am by Chairman Rob Keller.

Approval of Minutes from February 14, 2018 Meeting.
 Motion by Mary Krueger to approve the minutes as presented. Motion seconded by Mary Anne Mueller. Motion passed 8-0.

- 2. At 10:01 am, Mark Harris made a motion to convene into closed session, pursuant to Wisconsin State Statutes, Sec. 19.85(1)(g), for the purpose of conferring with legal counsel for the governmental body who is rendering oral or written advice concerning strategy to be adopted by the Board with respect to litigation which is likely to become involved. Joel Rasmussen seconded the motion. Roll Call vote: Rasmussen, aye; Wise, aye; Harris, aye; Hartman, aye; Krueger, aye; Dearborn, aye; Mueller, aye; Keller, aye. Motion passed 8-0. At 10:45 a.m. Mark Harris made a motion to reconvene into open session. Motion seconded by George Dearborn. Motion passed 8-0.
- 3. Election of Boar Officers for 2 year terms.

<u>Board Chair</u>: Rob Keller opened nominations for election of Board Chairman. Joel Rasmussen nominated Rob Keller for Board Chair. Other nominations were requested. No other nominations were offered. Joel Rasmussen moved to elect Rob Keller as Board Chair. Mary Anne Mueller seconded the Motion. Motion passed 8-0.

<u>Board Vice-Chair</u>: Rob Keller requested nominations for election of Board Vice-Chair. Mary Anne Mueller nominated George Dearborn as Vice-Chair. Other nominations were requested. No other nominations were offered. Mary Anne Mueller moved to elect George Dearborn as Board Vice-Chair. Joel Rasmussen seconded the motion. Motion passed 8-0.

<u>Board Secretary-Treasurer:</u> Rob Keller opened nominations for Board Secretary-Treasurer. Mark Harris nominated Mary Krueger for Board Secretary-Treasurer. Other nominations were requested. No other nominations were offered. Mark Harris moved to elect Mary Krueger for Board Secretary-Treasurer. Joel Rasmussen seconded the motion. Motion passed 8-0.

4. Report on Wisconsin's application to Federal Housing and Urban Development for closeout of the Community Development Block Grant-Economic Development Revolving Loan Funds (CDBG-ED RLF's).

Jerry Bougie distributed a handout summarizing the State's proposal to closeout the CDBG-ED RLF programs in the state. Rob Kleman and Jerry Bougie reported that the state desires to close out the program due to HUD's concern that there are significant CDBG-ED dollars in revolving loan funds that aren't being used and are not being administered in accordance with HUD requirements. As part of the closeout proposal, each RLF program will need to return to the state their cash on hand and loan receivables balances within 2 years from the closeout start date which has not been established to date. The benefit for local communities is that all dollars paid back to state are eligible to those local communities as grant dollars for local economic development and public service related projects. More detail on the closeout program will be forthcoming from the state once the state receives approval from HUD and local communities are notified. Discussion pursued. Jerry and Rob will be reporting back to the Board on this when more information becomes available.

5. Review and Board action on proposed 2019 IDB Budget.

Jerry Bougie distributed a 2019 IDB budget breakdown. He indicated that this budget is funded annually by the County Board as a lump sum miscellaneous inter-fund transfer. Most of the budget is allocated to the local communities on an annual basis for their local economic development projects/programs. Discussion pursued. Joel Rasmussen moved to approve the IDB budget for 2019. George Dearborn seconded the motion. Motion passed 8-0.

6. Adjournment:

Mary Anne moved to adjourn the meeting, motion seconded by Mary Krueger. Motion passed 8-0. Meeting adjourned at 11:15 am.

Submitted by,

Jerry Bougie, Recording Secretary