

# BOARD OF DIRECTORS ANNUAL MEETING 7:00 P.M. Thursday, May 12, 2016 Whispering Springs 380 Whispering Springs Dr. Fond du Lac, WI

### **MEETING MINUTES**

**PRESENT:** Will Albrecht, Connie Anderson, Darlene Bilstad, Donna Blend, Jim Chatterton,

Gayle Demler, Joni Deneke, Tom Dornbrook, Ted Eischeid, Robert Giese,

Sister Caryl Hartjes, Natalie Lambert, Larry Lautenschlager, Paul Levandowski, Susan Locke, Carol Miller, Mike Norton, Anne Paradies, John Schneider, Don Skog,

Su Van Houwelingen, Tom Widener, Gary Will, William Wuske

**ABSENT**/ Jim Cleveland, Daniel Eisenach, George Egner, Paulette Feld, Mary Fleischman,

**EXUSED:** Joe Gonyo, Bob Johnson, Christian Harpt, Chris Kniep, Ann Marshall,

Marilyn Sanabria,

**STAFF:** Tony Beregszazi, Mike Bonertz, Kathy Doyle, Hillary Gunther, Bob Kallio,

Holly Konitzer, Tanya Marcoe, Lu Scheer, Scott Sears, Deb Tauer, Jason Vander Velden,

and Lea Possehl

**CALL TO** The meeting was officially called to order at 7:15 PM by President Connie Anderson

**ORDER:** 

**ROLL** Roll call was taken and a quorum of 24/35 was present.

CALL:

#### PRESENTATION OF HISTORY OF COMMUNITY ACTIONS:

Guest Speaker, Bob Beezat, presented the History of Community Actions.

#### **PRESENTATION OF ANNUAL REPORT:**

Mike Bonertz presented the 2015 Annual Report.

## ANNOUNCEMENTS OF ELECTION RESULTS OF BOARD OFFICERS AND EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE:

President, Connie Anderson, announced the Election Results of Board Officers and

Executive Committee Members. The results were as follows:

President: Connie Anderson Vice President: Tom Dornbrook

Secretary: Ann Marshall

Treasurer: Su van Houwelingen

Executive Committee Members: Darlene Bilstad, Donna Blend, Joe Gonyo,

Christine Kniep, Larry Lautenschlager, and John Schneider

#### **2016 ROSALIE TRYON BARBER SELF SUFFICIENCY AWARD:**

Staff member, Sue Pomplun read a letter from Amber Davis, the 2016 Rosalie Tryon Barber Self-Sufficiency Award recipient, and accepted the award on her behalf. Amber was unable to be attend the meeting due to work obligations.

#### **NEW AWARD / ARTIST:**

Mike informed guests that ADVOCAP hosted an art search in order to find a new piece of art to be distributed as our award. This artwork was to represent ADVOCAP and its mission. Mike introduced Shawn McAfee, the winner of the contest, and she spoke briefly about her piece titled "Opening Doors".

#### **2016 COMMUNITY SERVICE AWARDS:**

Staff member, Bob Kallio presented the 2016 Fond du Lac County Community Service Award to the Stone Foundation. Eric Stone was present and accepted the award.

Staff members, Kathy Doyle and Lu Scheer, presented the 2016 Green Lake County Community Service Award to the Riverside Motel. Owner, Sonya Miladinovic, was present and accepted the award.

Staff member, Bob Kallio, presented the 2016 Winnebago County Community Service Award to the Winnebago County Literacy Council. Oxana Martynova-Perzentka was present and accepted the award.

#### **2016 VOLUNTEER AWARDS:**

Staff member, Bridget Bestor, presented the 2016 Fond du Lac County Volunteer Award to recipients, Donna & Tod Culver.

Staff member, Deb Tauer, presented the 2016 Green Lake County Volunteer Award to recipient, Harriet Henke.

Staff member, Joanne Murphy Spice, presented the 2016 Winnebago County Volunteer Award to recipients, Wayne & Judy Bahr.

#### **ADVOCAP EMPLOYEE SERVICE RECOGNITION:**

Executive Director Mike Bonertz and Deputy Director Tony Beregszazi recognized ADVOCAP staff members who had given five or more consecutive years for their years of dedicated service. Those who have been with the agency for five consecutive year increments were recognized with a Service Award Pin.

#### ADVOCAP EMPLOYEE BOARD RECOGNITION:

Executive Director Mike Bonertz, recognized retiring ADVOCAP board members for their years of dedicated service. These members included: Ted Eischeid, Daniel Eisenach, George Egner, Sister Caryl Hartjes, Natalie Lambert, Don Skog, Tom Widener, and William Wuske

#### **ADJOURNMENT:**

On a motion by Donna Blend with a second by Mike Norton, the meeting was adjourned at 8:35 PM.

#### MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

MINUTES BY: Lea Possehl, Executive Administrative Assistant