About Us

The Winnebago County Health Department is a Level III public health agency, the highest level recognized by state statute. The Health Department is comprised of 6 units:

  • Administration
  • Communicable Disease
  • Community Health and Prevention
  • Environmental Health
  • Healthy Lifespan
  • Women, Infants and Children (WIC)

Winnebago County Health Department


Healthy people building thriving communities. 


Winnebago County Health Department (WCHD) protects and promotes health through services, partnerships, and equitable practices and policies so all can live their best life. 


  1. Accountability
  2. Building and Sustaining a Responsive Public Health Workforce
  3. Collaboration and Partnership
  4. Equity
  5. Ethical Practice of Public Health

Strategic Priorities - coming soon!

Read more about the strategic process and priorities of the Winnebago County Health Department in the Strategic Plan 2020-2023 - coming soon!