1 **207-42013**

2 3	RESOLUTION: Oppose Assembly Bill 85 and Senate Bill 95
4	TO THE WINNEBAGO COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS:
5	WHEREAS, Wisconsin State Assembly Bill 85 and Wisconsin State Senate Bill 95 propose legislation that
6	would mandate that Milwaukee County vote on a referendum that, if approved, would dramatically amend the
7	compensation and term length of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors as well as strip the Milwaukee County
8	Board of Supervisors of many of its powers; and
9	WHEREAS, there is no precedent in recent history wherein the State Legislature has mandated a binding
10	referendum on a local ballot which significantly affects and restricts the authority of a local legislative body of
11	government; and
12	WHEREAS, if the above legislation was approved and enacted, it would establish a precedent for the State
13	Legislature to place referendums on other local ballots which could significantly affect the scope and operation of
14	local units of government; and
15	WHEREAS, the Winnebago County Board of Supervisors firmly believes that it should be the right of
16	individual electors to petition for and request placement of a referendum on a ballot affecting how a local governing
17	body operates and is organized, rather than by the State Legislature, whose members are overwhelmingly made up
18	of individuals who do not reside within that local governing body.
19	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Winnebago County Board of Supervisors that it hereby
20	opposes the adoption of Wisconsin State Assembly Bill 85 and Wisconsin State Senate Bill 95.
21	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED by the Winnebago County Board of Supervisors that it directs the Winnebago
22	County Clerk to forward a copy of this Resolution to Wisconsin Governor Scott Walker; to all members of the
23	Wisconsin State Legislature; to the Wisconsin Counties Association, and to the County Clerk of all Wisconsin
24	counties.
25	Respectfully submitted by:
26 27 28	Mike Norton, District #20 Larry Lautenschlager, District #19
29	Vote Required for Passage: Majority of Those Present
30	
31	Approved by the Winnebago County Executive this day of, 2013.
32	
33 34 35	Mark L Harris Winnebago County Executive