WINNEBAGO COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS--PERSONNEL & FINANCE COMMITTEE

DATE: Thursday, January 7, 2010

TIME: 8:03 a.m.

PLACE: Personnel Conference Room

PRESENT: Jeanette Diakoff

Claud Thompson David Albrecht

Ronald Eichman (arrived 8:04)

EXCUSED: Stan Kline

ALSO PRESENT: Mark Harris, County Executive

Karon Kraft, Director of Human Resources Rob Way, Parks Director/Expo Site Manager

Diane Fremgen, Clerk of Courts Julie Pagel, Register of Deeds

Mike Elder, Director of Facilities & Property Mgmt. Ellen Shute, Administrative Services Division Manager

Peter Moll, Airport Director

Debra Last Larry Last Bill Roh

- 1. David Albrecht called the meeting to order at 8:03 a.m.
- 2. Jeanette Diakoff moved to approve the minutes of the Jan. 3, 2009 meeting, seconded by Claud Thompson. Carried 3-0.
- 3. <u>Budget Transfer-Airport</u>, \$13,440. The transfer covers the cost of repairing the control tower elevator, which stopped working during AirVenture 2009. The warranty expired June 1, 2009, and is not covered by the maintenance policy with Schindler Elevator. David Albrecht moved for approval, seconded by Claud Thompson. Carried 4-0.
- 4. <u>Budget Transfer-Airport, \$50,000</u>. The transfer covers the cost of fencing around the south perimeter of the airport. There was no clarification of the fence's proximity to the property line, so Ron Eichman made a motion to postpone action until there is an amendment to reflect it will be 10 feet off the property line. David Albrecht withdrew the transfer.
- 5. <u>Budget Transfer–Park Expo HVAC Replacement Capital Project</u>, \$460,000. The transfer would upgrade the air conditioning system in the expo building. It would replace the 15 existing rooftop units with more energy-efficient ones, and to add a system to coordinate their operations. The American Recovery ad Reinvestment Act will provide an Energy Efficiency and Conservation Block Grant to cover \$148,700 of the cost. The remaining \$311,300 will be part of the county's bond issue. David Albrecht moved for approval, seconded by Jeanette Diakoff. Carried 4-0.
- 6. Resolution: Amend the Table of Organization for the Winnebago County Register of Deeds Office. Julie Pagel requested a full-time tract recorder be reclassified as a full-time records clerk due to a retirement in that position. David Albrecht moved for approval, seconded by Jeanette Diakoff. Carried 4-0.
- 7. Change in the table of Organization due to a retirement Department of Human Services. Ellen Shute asked that an administrative services division's clerical support coordinator's position vacated by a retirement Jan. 4, 2010, be discontinued. The duties would be reassigned to the medical and collections coordinator and to the

financial coordinator. The department requested to implement the change on a trial basis and report back to the Personnel and Finance Committee in February. If the change is successful, Shute will submit the new job descriptions and titles for approval. David Albrecht moved to proceed with the change in the table of organization, seconded by Claud Thompson. Carried 4-0.

- 8. Special pay adjustment in accordance with the Administrative Salary Plan. Diane Fremgen asked for a special pay adjustment for her Office Manager/Chief Deputy. Fremgen said the position was filled in 2008 at the low end of the pay scale and the manager has not received any step increases. Fremgen said she included the pay increase in her 2010 budget. Mark Harris said he would not support the pay increase without a significant change in job duties. Ronald Eichman moved for approval, seconded by Jeanette Diakoff. Denied 2-2. David Albrecht and Claud Thompson voted against.
- 9. Ronald Eichman moved to approve the Resolution for Commendation for Margaret Bero, seconded by David Albrecht, Carried 4-0.
- 10. Ronald Eichman moved to approve the Resolution for Commendation for Karen Fox, seconded by David Albrecht. Carried 4-0.
- 11. Ronald Eichman moved to approve the Resolution for Commendation for Susan Hansen, seconded by David Albrecht. Carried 4-0.
- 12. Ronald Eichman moved to approve the Resolution for Commendation for Steve Herman, seconded by David Albrecht, Carried 4-0.
- 13. Ronald Eichman moved to approve the Resolution for Commendation for Joanne Schmelz, seconded by David Albrecht, Carried 4-0.
- 14. Claud Thompson moved to disallow the claim of Lenora Borchardt and refer the claim to Corporation Counsel, seconded by David Albrecht. Carried 4-0.
- 15. Claud Thompson moved to disallow the claim of Town of Nepeuskun on behalf of Matthew Maki and refer the claim to Corporation Counsel, seconded by David Albrecht. Carried 4-0.
- 16. Report from the Director of Human Resources.

Karon Kraft shared an email she received from Associated Financial Group indicating the federal government has extended the COBRA Premium Subsidy. This extends the deadline to qualify for the COBRA subsidy to Feb. 28, 2010, and it also extends the maximum COBRA subsidy period from nine months to 15 months.

Kraft also received health insurance rate information from the State of Wisconsin Department of Employee Trust Funds. The Underwriters set a surcharge of \$60 for a single plan, and \$150 for family plans to be applied to monthly premiums. The surcharges would not reduce the County's health insurance costs.

- 17. The next scheduled meeting of the Personnel & Finance Committee is Thurs., Feb. 4, 2010 at 8 a.m.
- 18. Ron Eichman moved to convene into Closed Session pursuant to exemption provided in section 19.85(1) (e), Wis. Stats., for the purpose of deliberating or negotiation the purchasing of public properties, the investing of public funds, or conducting other specified public business, whenever competitive or bargaining reasons require a closed session, specifically the discussion of collective bargaining strategies at 9:15 a.m. Motion seconded by Claud Thompson. Roll call vote: Diakoff, aye; Thompson, aye; Albrecht, aye; Eichman, aye. Motion carried 4-0.
- 19. At 9:30 a.m. Jeanette Diakoff made a motion to reconvene to open session, seconded by Ron Eichman. Roll call vote: Diakoff, aye; Thompson, aye; Albrecht, aye; Eichman, aye. Motion carried 4-0.
- 20. David Albrecht moved to adjourn the meeting at 9:30 a.m., seconded by Jeanette Diakoff. Carried 4-0.