WINNEBAGO COUNTY PLANNING & ZONING COMMITTEE

DELIBERATIVE MEETING

May 3, 2010 7:30 A.M.

2nd Floor Conference Room – Orrin King Building

PRESENT: Supervisors, Patrick Brennand – Chairman, Claud Thompson, Joanne Sievert,

Tom Egan, and Jeanette Diakoff. Cary Rowe, Zoning Administrator and Eric

Rasmussen, Code Enforcement Officer. Guests present

EXCUSED: NONE

The meeting was called to order by P. Brennand, Chairman at 7:30 A.M.

1. Winnebago County Airport – Zoning Change

Committee reviewed the staff notes.

MOTION by C. Thompson to approve the Zoning Change with findings as submitted. J. Sievert seconded.

Motion carried 5-0 to approve the Zoning Change with findings as submitted.

2. WisDOT – Zoning Change

Committed reviewed the staff notes.

MOTION by J. Sievert to approve the Zoning Change with findings as submitted. T. Egan seconded.

Motion carried 5-0 to approve the Zoning Change with findings as submitted.

3. Omro Dairy LLC – Zoning Change

Committee reviewed the staff notes.

MOTION by C. Thompson to approve the Zoning Change with findings as submitted. J. Diakoff seconded.

Motion carried 5-0 approve the Zoning Change with findings as submitted.

4. <u>Grundy Quarry – Conditional Use Permit Renewal</u>

Zoning Administrator explained that the Town of Oshkosh had requested a 30 day delay to address some concerns that had been brought to the Town.

MOTION by J. Diakoff to adjourn the item until the May deliberative. J. Sievert seconded.

The committee discussed wells, dust, and basement concerns.

Motion carried 5-0 to adjourn the item to the May deliberative.

5. Calnin & Goss Quarry – Conditional Use Permit Renewal

Committee reviewed the staff notes.

MOTION by J. Sievert to renew the Conditional Use with conditions as submitted. T. Egan seconded.

The committee asked staff if complaints had been received from the railroad regarding erosion and drainage. None had been received recently.

Motion carried 5-0 to renew the Conditional Use with conditions as submitted.

6. Borchert Sand Quarry - Conditional Use Permit Renewal

Committee reviewed the staff notes.

MOTION by J. Sievert to renew the Conditional Use with conditions as submitted. T. Egan seconded.

The committee discussed fencing and gating at the site.

Motion carried 5-0 to renew the Conditional Use with conditions as submitted.

7. Hughes Quarry – Conditional Use Permit Renewal

Committee reviewed the staff notes. Zoning Administrator asked that conditions 7-11 be struck from the staff notes.

MOTION by J. Sievert to renew the Conditional Use with conditions, striking conditions 7-11 from staff notes. C. Thompson seconded.

The committee discussed the asphalt plant that was once at the site.

Motion carried 5-0 to renew the Conditional Use with conditions as corrected.

8. <u>Larsen Quarry – Conditional Use Amendment</u>

The committee reviewed a request from MCC to amend the hours of the Conditional Use permit for the Larsen Quarry.

MOTION by J. Sievert to amend the Conditional Use as requested with the following conditions:

- 1. All conditions of original approval shall still apply
- 2. Amended hours shall only apply during the project currently being requested, if amended hours are requested for future projects a written request shall be made to this Committee.
- 3. Neighbors shall be notified prior to blasting.
- 4. Trucks shall enter and exit quarry directly onto County Rd II.

T. Egan seconded.

Motion carried 5-0 to amend the hours of the Conditional Use with conditions.

MOTION by C. Thompson to reconsider Grundy Quarry adjournment. T. Egan seconded.

There was discussion regarding causing undo problems and delays because of the adjournment, concern about last minute complaints being filed, and treating all quarries the same.

Staff recommended the 30-day delay because the Conditional Use would still be valid through the next deliberative and the quarry could continue to operate at this time.

C. Thompson withdrew his motion to reconsider the Grundy Quarry adjournment.

<u>Adjournment</u>

MOTION by J. Diakoff to adjourn the meeting. J. Sievert seconded.

Motion carried 5-0 and the meeting was adjourned at 8:07 A.M.

Respectfully Submitted,

Eric Rasmussen Recording Secretary

ERR