1 2 3

4 5 6

TO THE WINNEBAGO COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS:

7 8 9

WHEREAS, Section 59.10 Wisconsin Statutes, as amended, provides county boards throughout the State of Wisconsin with the authority to reduce the size of the county board on a one-time basis subsequent to re-appointment after a decennial census; and

Reduce Size of Winnebago County

Board of Supervisors to 35 Members

RESOLUTION:

10 11 12

WHEREAS, your undersigned supervisors believe that any sizeable reduction in the size of the Winnebago County Board of Supervisors would limit the contact that persons in rural towns have with their elected supervisor; and

14 15 16

17

13

WHEREAS, county government is important to persons in rural areas in that many direct services are provided to persons in unincorporated areas by county government, whereas, such services are provided in incorporated areas by city or village governments; and

18 19 20

21

22 23

WHEREAS, your undersigned County Board Supervisors believe that it is in the best interest of Winnebago County and the electors within their districts to implement a slight reduction in size of the Winnebago County Board of Supervisors so as to preserve meaningful representation to all persons with Winnebago County in relationship to county government and particularly those in rural areas; and

24 25 26

27

WHEREAS, Winnebago County has zoning approval authority in all 16 towns in Winnebago County under Chapter 59 Wisconsin Statutes, but does not have zoning approval authority in city or villages in Winnebago County. This exemplifies that supervisor districts in the rural town areas is critical and should not be diminished anymore than required by law.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Winnebago County Board of Supervisors that pursuant to Section 59.10, Wisconsin Statutes, the size of the Winnebago County Board of Supervisors is hereby reduced from 36 supervisors to 35 supervisors.

33 34 35

36 37

32

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED by the Winnebago County Board of Supervisors that the Planning Department of Winnebago County is hereby directed to prepare a map with the proposed redistricting plan pursuant to this Resolution and submit such map to the Judiciary and Public Safety Committee of the County Board of Supervisors within ninety (90) days of the date of this Resolution.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED by the Winnebago County Board of Supervisors that said redistricting map shall be subject to the final approval of the full Winnebago County Board of Supervisors.

43 44 45

42

Submitted by:

46 47 48

49

50 51 **CHUCK FARREY, DISTRICT #30 JEROLD FINCH, DISTRICT #28 HARVEY RENGSTORF, DISTRICT #35** THOMAS KONETZKE, DISTRICT #1 NANCY BARKER, DISTRICT #2 JIM ENGLEBERT. DISTRICT #3 **DONALD MILLER, DISTRICT #6 LAWRENCE SMITH, DISTRICT #8** TIM HAMBLIN. DISTRICT #10 MARIBETH GABERT, DISTRICT #12

52 53 54

55

56

57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66		TRAVIS SWANSON, DISTRICT #13 MARISSA REYNOLDS, DISTRICT #16 SUSAN LOCKE, DISTRICT #26 GUY HEGG, DISTRICT #27 JOANNE SIEVERT, DISTRICT #29 TOM ELLIS, DISTRICT #34 TOM EGAN, DISTRICT #33 COUNTY BOARD SUPERVISORS
67 68	Vote Requirement for Passage:	
69 70 71 72	Approved by Winnebago County Executive this	day of January, 2011.
73 74 75 76		Mark L. Harris County Executive